This profile has not been translated into English yet. It is shown in French, the reference language (automatic translation tools in your browser can help). Legal statuses and counts are shown in English.

Portrait of Steve Burns (Lordstown Motors)

Portrait: Openverse / flickr — The Trump White House Archived — pdm 1.0 · source

Véhicules électriques / marchés financiers / SPAC / gouvernance d’entreprise

Steve Burns (Lordstown Motors)

Fiche documentée couvrant 8 controverses, dont « 2020–2023 : procès Karma Automotive pour détournement allégué de secrets commerciaux et débauchage d’employés » et « 2020–2021 : plus de 100 000 « précommandes » d’Endurance présentées comme indicateur de demande commerciale ».

Your opinion of this profile

Profile No. 1919 · Updated on 25 September 2026

8Documented controversies
11Sources
0Formal charge · all time
0Conviction

I. Documented controversies

01

22 mars 2024

2024 : règlement SEC sur les déclarations relatives aux précommandes — 175 000 dollars et interdiction temporaire de fonctions

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

La SEC règle des accusations civiles selon lesquelles Burns a induit les investisseurs en erreur sur la nature et la qualité des précommandes d’Endurance. Il accepte une injonction, une amende de 175 000 dollars et une interdiction de deux ans de diriger une société cotée.

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionStephen Scott BurnsRegulatory authorityVery high reliability

Last verified: 13 September 2026

02

octobre 2020–septembre 2023

2020–2023 : procès Karma Automotive pour détournement allégué de secrets commerciaux et débauchage d’employés

Case dismissed / dropped

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Karma Automotive poursuit Lordstown Motors, Steve Burns et d’autres personnes en alléguant l’utilisation d’une perspective de partenariat pour recruter des salariés et obtenir des informations confidentielles.

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    U.S. District Court / Justia docketKarma Automotive LLC v. Lordstown Motors Corp. et al.High reliability
  2. [2]
    SEC EDGARSettlement Agreement and ReleaseVery high reliability

Last verified: 13 September 2026

03

novembre 2021–juin 2023

2021–2023 : cession progressive de la totalité de sa participation Lordstown pour environ 66 millions de dollars

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Après son départ, Burns vend progressivement ses actions Lordstown et ne détient plus d’actions en juin 2023 ; les ventes cumulées sont rapportées à environ 66 millions de dollars.

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
  2. [2]
    Reuters / Investing.comLordstown Motors ex-CEO sells more company stock - filingNews agencyVery high reliability

Last verified: 13 September 2026

04

juin 2023

2023 : faillite de Lordstown Motors après son départ

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Lordstown Motors se place sous Chapter 11 après des difficultés de production, de financement et un conflit avec Foxconn.

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    Reuters / Investing.comLordstown Motors files for bankruptcy, sues FoxconnNews agencyVery high reliability

Last verified: 13 September 2026

05

septembre–octobre 2023

2023 : rachat pour 10,2 millions de dollars d’actifs de Lordstown par une structure contrôlée par Burns

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

LAS Capital, structure contrôlée par Burns, remporte l’appel d’offres sur certains actifs de Lordstown et conclut l’achat pour 10,2 millions de dollars.

Sources · 1

  1. [1]

Last verified: 13 September 2026

06

2020–juin 2021

2020–2021 : plus de 100 000 « précommandes » d’Endurance présentées comme indicateur de demande commerciale

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Burns affirme que Lordstown dispose de plus de 100 000 précommandes non contraignantes provenant principalement de flottes commerciales. Le comité spécial puis la SEC concluent que cette présentation donnait une image irréaliste de la demande.

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
  2. [2]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionStephen Scott BurnsRegulatory authorityVery high reliability

Last verified: 13 September 2026

07

mars–juin 2021

2021 : rapport Hindenburg sur les commandes et la production — validation partielle seulement par le comité indépendant

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Hindenburg Research accuse Lordstown et Burns d’avoir gonflé la demande et caché des obstacles de production. Le comité spécial rejette plusieurs affirmations comme fausses ou trompeuses mais confirme des inexactitudes relatives aux précommandes.

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    Hindenburg ResearchThe Lordstown Motors MirageMedium reliability
  2. [2]

Last verified: 13 September 2026

08

14 juin 2021

2021 : démission immédiate comme CEO et administrateur de Lordstown Motors

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Steve Burns quitte immédiatement ses fonctions de CEO et d’administrateur, en même temps que le CFO Julio Rodriguez, après la publication des conclusions sur les précommandes et une crise de financement.

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    SEC EDGAR / Lordstown MotorsLordstown Motors Announces Leadership TransitionVery high reliability
  2. [2]
    Reuters / Investing.comElectric-truck maker Lordstown's CEO, CFO resign, shares slumpNews agencyVery high reliability

Last verified: 13 September 2026

II. Constellation of documented links

Each link refers to an imported relation or to a documented mention in a profile. A documented mention does not, on its own, prove a personal relationship.

List of documented links
  1. Progressive1 reference
    • Mentioned in “2021–2023 : cession progressive de la totalité de sa participation Lordstown pour environ 66 millions de dollars” — Steve Burns (Lordstown Motors)'s profile cites Progressive.

III. Your opinion of this profile

One opinion per browser, which you can change at any time. It rates the quality of the profile, not the person.

IV. Has something changed?

A new court decision, a missing source, a mistake? Tell us what should be updated: every request is read by the editorial team.