This profile has not been translated into English yet. It is shown in French, the reference language (automatic translation tools in your browser can help). Legal statuses and counts are shown in English.

Portrait of SABIC

Portrait: Wikidata/Wikimedia Commons — See Wikimedia Commons source page · source

Chimie / pétrochimie / matériaux / polymères

SABIC

Fiche documentée couvrant 13 controverses, dont « Création de SABIC » et « Ouverture du capital et cotation ».

Your opinion of this profile

Profile No. 5475 · Updated on 26 September 2026

13Documented controversies
6Sources
0Formal charge · all time
0Conviction

I. Documented controversies

01

8 janvier 2026

Vente annoncée d'activités en Europe et dans les Amériques pour 950 M$

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC convient de céder son activité pétrochimique européenne à AEQUITA pour une valeur d'entreprise de 500 millions de dollars et son activité Engineering Thermoplastics en Europe et dans les Amériques à Mutares pour 450 millions, soit 950 millions combinés.

Last verified: 21 September 2026

02

2025

Perte nette 2025 et impact de Teesside

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC publie pour 2025 une perte nette attribuable aux actionnaires de la société mère d'environ 25,78 milliards SAR ; la revue financière cite notamment des activités abandonnées, ajustements de valeur et un impact d'environ 3,78 milliards SAR lié à la fermeture du cracker de Teesside.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]

Last verified: 21 September 2026

03

2023–2024

Cession de Hadeed et poursuite de l'optimisation du portefeuille

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC poursuit l'optimisation de son portefeuille avec la cession de Hadeed puis d'autres actifs tels qu'une participation dans Alba et l'activité Functional Forms.

Sources · 1

  1. [1]

Last verified: 21 September 2026

04

juin 2020

Saudi Aramco acquiert 70 % de SABIC

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Saudi Aramco finalise l'acquisition auprès du Public Investment Fund de 70 % de SABIC pour 69,1 milliards de dollars, soit 259,125 milliards SAR.

Last verified: 21 September 2026

05

2018

Prise de participation de 24,99 % dans Clariant

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC acquiert en 2018 une participation de 24,99 % dans Clariant.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]

Last verified: 21 September 2026

06

31 mai 2012

Règlement Clean Air Act de SABIC Innovative Plastics aux États-Unis

Allegations

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC Innovative Plastics US LLC et sa filiale de Mt. Vernon acceptent une pénalité civile de 1 012 873 dollars et des mesures renforcées de détection/réparation des fuites pour régler des violations alléguées du Clean Air Act dans des sites d'Indiana et d'Alabama.

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    U.S. Environmental Protection AgencySaudi Basic Industries Corporation (SABIC) Innovative Plastics - LLC SettlementVery high reliability

Last verified: 21 September 2026

07

2009

Coentreprise pétrochimique avec Sinopec en Chine

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC établit avec Sinopec une coentreprise pétrochimique en Chine.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]

Last verified: 21 September 2026

08

2007

Acquisition de GE Plastics

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC acquiert GE Plastics en 2007 pour environ 11 milliards de dollars et l'intègre à ses activités de matériaux de performance.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
  2. [2]
    U.S. Environmental Protection AgencySaudi Basic Industries Corporation (SABIC) Innovative Plastics - LLC SettlementVery high reliability

Last verified: 21 September 2026

09

2006

Acquisition de Huntsman Petrochemicals au Royaume-Uni

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC acquiert Huntsman Petrochemicals au Royaume-Uni en 2006.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]

Last verified: 21 September 2026

10

2002

Acquisition de DSM Petrochemicals

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC acquiert en 2002 les activités pétrochimiques de DSM, étape importante de son expansion européenne.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]

Last verified: 21 September 2026

11

1985

Démarrage de plusieurs complexes pétrochimiques majeurs

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Plusieurs complexes et coentreprises majeurs, dont Sadaf, Yanpet, Petrokemya, Kemya, Sharq et Ibn Sina, commencent leur production durant cette phase d'expansion.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    SABICCorporate ProfileHigh reliability

Last verified: 21 September 2026

12

1984

Ouverture du capital et cotation

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

SABIC ouvre une part de son capital au marché au milieu des années 1980, tout en conservant longtemps un actionnariat public majoritaire.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]

Last verified: 21 September 2026

13

1976

Création de SABIC

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Saudi Basic Industries Corporation est créée en 1976 pour développer les industries de transformation et pétrochimiques saoudiennes.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
  2. [2]
    SABICCorporate ProfileHigh reliability

Last verified: 21 September 2026

II. Constellation of documented links

Each link refers to an imported relation or to a documented mention in a profile. A documented mention does not, on its own, prove a personal relationship.

List of documented links
  1. Ma'aden3 references
    • Cross-mention: “Constitution des partenariats initiaux dans les engrais phosphatés” — Ma'aden's profile cites SABIC.
    • Cross-mention: “Développement du complexe phosphaté Wa’ad Al Shamal” — Ma'aden's profile cites SABIC.
    • Cross-mention: “Acquisition d’une participation dans Aluminium Bahrain (Alba)” — Ma'aden's profile cites SABIC.
  2. Maire S.p.A.2 references
    • Cross-mention: “Package de contrats technologiques NextChem d’environ 50 M€” — Maire S.p.A.'s profile cites SABIC.
    • Cross-mention: “Sélection par SABIC pour un projet d’engrais en Arabie saoudite, environ 125 M€” — Maire S.p.A.'s profile cites SABIC.
  3. Future1 reference
    • Mentioned in “Perte nette 2025 et impact de Teesside” — SABIC's profile cites Future.
  4. Saudi Aramco1 reference
    • Mentioned in “Saudi Aramco acquiert 70 % de SABIC” — SABIC's profile cites Saudi Aramco.

III. Your opinion of this profile

One opinion per browser, which you can change at any time. It rates the quality of the profile, not the person.

IV. Has something changed?

A new court decision, a missing source, a mistake? Tell us what should be updated: every request is read by the editorial team.