This profile has not been translated into English yet. It is shown in French, the reference language (automatic translation tools in your browser can help). Legal statuses and counts are shown in English.

Portrait of John Kapoor

Portrait: Wikipedia en — See Wikipedia/Wikimedia source page · source

Business / pharmacie / Insys Therapeutics / opioïdes / fraude santé / justice fédérale

John Kapoor

Fiche documentée couvrant 14 controverses, dont « Formation en pharmacie et chimie médicinale » et « Création d'EJ Financial Enterprises et investissements pharmaceutiques ».

Your opinion of this profile

Profile No. 4177 · Updated on 28 September 2026

14Documented controversies
9Sources
1Formal charge · all time1 pending
2Convictions

I. Documented controversies

01

2022

La Cour suprême refuse d'examiner son recours

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Après la confirmation en appel, Kapoor saisit la Cour suprême; sa demande de certiorari est rejetée en 2022.

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    Supreme Court of the United StatesBrief in Opposition — Kapoor v. United StatesVery high reliability
  2. [2]
    U.S. District Court for the District of Delaware / JustiaInsys Liquidation Trust v. Kapoor — Proposed FindingsHigh reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

02

25 août 2021

First Circuit confirme le verdict et rétablit les predicate findings, mais renvoie restitution/confiscation

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

La cour d'appel confirme les verdicts et peines, rétablit des findings que le district court avait écartés et annule/renvoie certains ordres de restitution et de confiscation pour recalcul.

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit / JustiaUnited States v. Simon, No. 20-1368Very high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

03

23 janvier 2020

Peine de 66 mois de prison

Conviction

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Kapoor est condamné à 66 mois de prison et trois ans de supervised release dans le dossier Insys.

Legal status — source text
sentenced

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    U.S. Department of Justice, District of MassachusettsFounder and Former Chairman of the Board of Insys Therapeutics Sentenced to 66 Months in PrisonVery high reliability
  2. [2]
    U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit / JustiaUnited States v. Simon, No. 20-1368Very high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

04

2019

Procès : système de rémunération des prescripteurs et fraude de remboursement

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Les procureurs soutiennent qu'Insys rémunérait des prescripteurs via des programmes de speakers fictifs ou biaisés et utilisait son centre de remboursement pour obtenir des autorisations de prise en charge de Subsys.

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    U.S. Department of Justice, District of MassachusettsFounder and Former Chairman of the Board of Insys Therapeutics Sentenced to 66 Months in PrisonVery high reliability
  2. [2]

Last verified: 19 September 2026

05

2 mai 2019

Condamnation pour complot RICO

Conviction

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Un jury fédéral déclare Kapoor coupable de complot RICO avec plusieurs autres dirigeants d'Insys.

Legal status — source text
Conviction

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    U.S. Department of Justice, District of MassachusettsFounder and Former Chairman of the Board of Insys Therapeutics Sentenced to 66 Months in PrisonVery high reliability
  2. [2]
    U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit / JustiaUnited States v. Simon, No. 20-1368Very high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

06

juin 2019

Insys conclut un règlement global de 225 millions de dollars puis se place sous Chapter 11

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Insys accepte un règlement global de 225 millions de dollars avec le gouvernement, incluant un plaidoyer de culpabilité de sa filiale opérationnelle, puis dépose une demande de protection Chapter 11 quelques jours plus tard.

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
  2. [2]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionInsys Therapeutics Chapter 11 Filing — Form 8-KVery high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

07

2019

Post-trial : le tribunal écarte certains predicate findings mais maintient le verdict RICO

Status not specified

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Le tribunal de district écarte certaines conclusions du jury relatives aux predicates Controlled Substances Act et honest-services pour Kapoor et d'autres, tout en laissant intact le verdict de complot RICO fondé notamment sur mail/wire fraud.

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit / JustiaUnited States v. Simon, No. 20-1368Very high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

08

novembre 2015–janvier 2017

Retour comme CEO d'Insys

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Après avoir longtemps présidé le conseil, Kapoor reprend la fonction de CEO d'Insys en novembre 2015.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionInsys Therapeutics 2016 Proxy StatementVery high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

09

9 janvier 2017

Retraite des fonctions de CEO et chairman d'Insys

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Insys annonce que Kapoor quitte les fonctions de président, CEO et chairman, tout en demeurant alors administrateur et président du comité scientifique et R&D.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / Insys TherapeuticsInsys Therapeutics Announces Retirement of Dr. John N. Kapoor as CEO and ChairmanVery high reliability
  2. [2]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionInsys Therapeutics 2017 Proxy StatementVery high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

10

24 octobre 2017

Inculpation dans le dossier Subsys

Formally charged

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Kapoor est ajouté par superseding indictment au dossier fédéral visant des dirigeants d'Insys pour un système présumé de kickbacks et de fraude autour de Subsys, spray de fentanyl.

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    U.S. District Court for the District of Delaware / JustiaInsys Liquidation Trust v. Kapoor — Proposed FindingsHigh reliability
  2. [2]
    U.S. Department of Justice, District of MassachusettsFounder and Former Chairman of the Board of Insys Therapeutics Sentenced to 66 Months in PrisonVery high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

11

1990–2016

Fondateur, principal actionnaire et président d'Insys Therapeutics

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Kapoor est présenté par Insys comme fondateur, président du conseil et principal actionnaire; en 2016, ses avoirs directs et via trusts représentent environ 67,3 % des actions selon le proxy.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionInsys Therapeutics 2016 Proxy StatementVery high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

12

1993–2002

Direction d'OptionCare et d'Akorn

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Il dirige OptionCare dans les années 1990 et exerce à plusieurs reprises comme CEO d'Akorn, tout en présidant divers conseils de sociétés pharmaceutiques.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 2

  1. [1]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionInsys Therapeutics 2016 Proxy StatementVery high reliability
  2. [2]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionInsys Therapeutics 2017 Proxy StatementVery high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

13

1990

Création d'EJ Financial Enterprises et investissements pharmaceutiques

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Kapoor crée EJ Financial Enterprises et développe parallèlement plusieurs participations et activités d'investissement dans les sociétés pharmaceutiques.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionInsys Therapeutics 2016 Proxy StatementVery high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

14

années 1960–1970

Formation en pharmacie et chimie médicinale

No legal proceedings

Not yet available in English — French original shown.

Kapoor obtient un B.S. en pharmacie à Bombay University puis un doctorat en chimie médicinale à SUNY Buffalo avant de construire une carrière dans les biopharmaceutiques.

Legal status — source text
Not applicable

Sources · 1

  1. [1]
    U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionInsys Therapeutics 2016 Proxy StatementVery high reliability

Last verified: 19 September 2026

II. Constellation of documented links

No documented link with another published profile for now.

A documented mention does not, on its own, prove a personal relationship.

III. Your opinion of this profile

One opinion per browser, which you can change at any time. It rates the quality of the profile, not the person.

IV. Has something changed?

A new court decision, a missing source, a mistake? Tell us what should be updated: every request is read by the editorial team.